Skip to content

Design Consequences – Postaday2011

January 4, 2011

Thuderstorm brewing

I am really enjoying PostADay2011. The first step in the long journey to being a better writer is to start by writing… something.

But soon I’ll have to make some choices. Because as I post with the postaday2011 tag, my navigation is becoming highly unbalanced. That is, my tag cloud is changing shape. Soon, very soon, PostADay2011 will dwarf everything else in my tag cloud. My tag cloud IS my navigation.

Authors will have to decide whether they prefer to stick with the tag campaign, or abandon it to keep their tag clouds reasonably sane. Three days into PostADay2011, I think I will be posting, but un-tagging along the way.

I am not pulling up stakes on the campaign, just on the tag. I wonder how others that may be enamoured with tag clouds perceive the PostADay2011 experiment.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. gnxmusic permalink
    January 8, 2011 12:33 pm

    I am doing the postaday2011 also. Just a week into and i noticed my Tag Cloud was starting to look a bit crazy also. I started the post a day in my personal site http://peterweis.com/inspiration/posting-blog-day/ I also use it as a portfolio and now Im thinking just like you are that the tag cloud is gonna look really messed up in just another week. My main reason for doing it was really to force my self to write more often. Looks like it is working. Have fun with it.

    Pete Weis

  2. yukidaruma permalink
    January 23, 2011 8:51 am

    I’m not having as much a tag problem because my blog has a really narrow focus and I reuse a lot of other tags not just postaday2011.

  3. February 5, 2011 5:41 am

    I don’t know where my cloud is. I’m not so tech-savvy as I might appear. I’m loving postaday2011 too — I have 4 blogs on WordPress so I just have to write on 1. And all I have to write is 100 words. After that, it’s gravy. Plus we all have short attention spans and no one really reads more than 100 any way. I’m probably up to that now. So, I’m signing off, mbc

    http://mbcoudal.wordpress.com/

  4. February 15, 2011 2:24 am

    I’ve seen that too, but once I reached a certain number of times i’ve used that tag it stays the same size. Also, one of my New Year’s Blog Resolutions is to make ‘bored’ not the biggest word in my tag cloud, and now I have succeeded! :)

  5. February 15, 2011 8:27 pm

    I am feeling much the same. That postaday2011 tag over shadows all else. My fix was to promote other topical tags, i.e. Humor, along with it, and let the category be predominately the method of marking the postaday2011. I don’t know if it will work yet though.

  6. May 16, 2011 10:37 am

    I do not sure tag clouds and I am curious to know about them. I can see what I presume is your cloud tag. It’s a cool graphic, but you said something about it being your navigation, which is interesting. Can you explain it? Am I using anything that is equivalent on http://www.shawnbird.com/blog without knowing it?

    Mysteries abound in the blog world!

    I have been blogging almost every day since I started over a year ago. Until I discovered postaday I gave myself permission to skip a day once it awhile. Now no skipping is allowed. Not sure whether it has made me a better writer, but it has definitely helped me procrastinate doing housework. ;-)

Leave a Reply

