Skip to content

SOLVED: Slow Performance of Microsoft Outlook

January 3, 2011

With the holidays over, I finally had time to solve a few annoyances that cropped up in 2010. The most annoying was that my Microsoft Outlook had gotten to be slow as a dog. Every time I changed mailboxes or folders I had to wait for some kind of 15 to 20 second delay. No, it was not a virus. It was a free update from Microsoft!

I like to keep my machine virus free and up-to-date with the latest patches from Microsoft. But a while back, an update got installed that completely bogged down Outlook. At the time, I was too busy to investigate. The problem turned out to be Microsoft Connectors.

It was not obvious at first, but after some web searching, I found a number of complaints about connectors. None of the complaints seemed as bad as what I was experiencing, and they dated back a while. Still, I tried removing the feature via the Control Panel to uninstall the Outlook Connector program feature.

Voila! (At the time I said OMG! OMG! OMG! Hallelujah! Yeah, a 20 second delay every time I changed Outlook folders was REALLY annoying.) Outlook is again a speedy tool and my Windows 7 PC hums happily again.

Some administrators blame the more recent security patch KB2412171, which pretty much all agree should be uninstalled if you have it. Control Panel > Uninstall > Program > View Installed Updates… look down the list for KB2412171 and remove it.

I however, was happy with simple results from Control Panel > Programs and Features… look down the list for Outlook Connector and uninstall it.

Happy computing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

