Skip to content

Slow Seagate NAS speed SOLVED

September 12, 2010
SOHO Network Diagram

Take the NAS off the router.

One man’s junk is another man’s treasure, which brings me to the Seagate NAS 110 device. A number of people have complained in forums about the horribly slow transfer rates of Seagate Network Attached Storage (NAS) devices. I too, experienced ghastly slow transfer rates of a couple KB/s when I bought mine, until I reconfigured. Now, the NAS has transfer rates at about 20 MB/s.

THE SOLUTION IS TO ADD A SWITCH
The router’s job is to isolate your LAN addresses from the internet WAN connection provided by your ISP. Personally, I use a D-Link DIR-655 which I like for the performance, programmability and price, but use anything that you want.

Between the router and your computer, place a switch. Plug the NAS into the switch along with your computer. My switch is an old Netgear GS605 which I like because it has a somewhat similar look to my router as well as great price performance.

The router works at layer 3 in the OSI stack which is network message level. The switch however, operates at the data layer 2 in the OSI stack and temporarily remembers the source and target MAC address listed in the Ethernet frame. So, the message can start moving to the right device even before all the packets in the message have arrived from the source device. Be sure to get a switch and not a hub. Hubs work at the physical layer 1 in the OSI stack and while inexpensive, are very slow.

Search http://www.cisco.com if you would like to know more about how a switch works. They have some great traffic analogies.

Do not let any of the support technicians tell you to replace your router to use a Seagate NAS. Just add an inexpensive switch to your LAN and let the packets flow.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 8:49 am

    It’s only about my passion on gadgets stuffs, and I would like to write it on my blog, but I can’t make mine as nice as this blog. I’ve been going to a manyblogs from every where, searching another blog references, articles etc, I like this blog and I believe this is the result from your blogging activities hardwork. Best regards.

  2. January 26, 2011 2:23 am

    I find myself coming back to your web-site only because you have lots of awesome insights and also you happen to be at this a while, which is very impressive and tells me you know your stuff.

  3. Seagate Blackarmor 220 is too S-L-O-W to be useful permalink
    September 13, 2012 2:24 am

    I have a Blackarmor 220 and it EXTREMELY slow copying files over the network. Moving NAS and PC to switch did not solve the problem. BA220 NAS and PC (i7/win7) connected to Netgear 110/100/000 switch; running now; transfer rate @ 200-500kb/sec . System estimates 19 hours to copy 20Gb. But get this – copying from share to share on the same drive was just as slow — all taking place within the NAS – nothing to do with network.

    • Jimmy permalink
      November 14, 2015 7:56 pm

      Same for me… I am now trying to get all file FROM the nas to nerver ever use Seagate again.. will take 7 days….. fakk….

  4. July 17, 2013 4:38 pm

    After adding the switch, I am getting 5 MB/s on wireless while 11 MB/s over wired. In my setup, I have a range extender, mobile and laptop vying for wireless. Connection is full duplex but limited to 100 Mb/s it seems as per router page. My N series Dlink DIR-605L is 300 Mb/s wireless and 10/100 ethernet. Theoretically, I should thus be getting the 300 Mb/s on wireless. However, it is half of Ethernet speed. How can I achieve the speed on wireless channel? I do understand the maximum limit on Ethernet.

  5. April 27, 2014 5:06 pm

    Someone essentially help to make critically posts I’d state.
    This is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now?
    I surprised with the research you made to make thhis actual puut up amazing.
    Great job!

  6. Rich Tyson permalink
    May 4, 2014 8:16 pm

    I don’t quite agree with your stance on the simplicity of resolving issues with the NAS110. For starters DLNA out of the box does not work properly, merely advising devices of it’s presence and timing out if based around one large volume. If configured with a static IP you have to configure DNS on your router to get the device working and it strangely seems to prefer to be running DHCP (easy enough to enter the MAC address into your DHCP server but still seems unnecessary). From here transfer speeds were appalling. Updates to Firmware and hardware resets did not seem to help at all until finally I stripped the unit down, disabled notifications and global access based around a suspicion that the processor was not handling all requests properly. Now it seems to be humming and I’m left lamenting the large amounts of time wasted on this item. Worst part is I have two of them, the one new in box may stay there for another year…

  7. calm permalink
    November 22, 2014 3:25 pm

    i have a seagate central 4tb nas plugged to an asus n66u router. my pc which is connected to the router directly (without switch) can copy from nas at 50mBps (400mbps) copying from pc to nas is at 20 to 25 mBps (160 to 200 mbps). wireless clients gets files from nas at 5 to 7 mBps. not a bad speed. i used to be limited to 10 mBps (80mbps) between the wired pc and nas but i read somewhere that cat 5 cable does not support gigabit ports that well. replaced the cat 5 with cat 5e and got the speed boost. well im happy with 400 mbps

  8. Gurj permalink
    April 24, 2017 3:40 pm

    I have a 4TB Seagate Personal Cloud and your solution didn’t work for me. I tried putting a switch inline but the transfer rates were still slow (1Mbps – 2Mbps MAX). I even upgraded my Wireless card to AC1300, even tried LAN cable, but can’t get the damn thing to increase transfer rates. It should be 1Gbps. It took me about 1 week to recover 1TB – PATHETIC. It would be hell of a lot quicker if I used millions of Floppy Disks Hahaha. Once upon a time I used to love Seagate, but I’m quickly stepping away from them if they can’t fix it.

Leave a Reply

